As I’m approaching my first anniversary, I feel like its about the time for me to reflect on our special day and actually focus on what an amazing day after months and months of planning it was.

Many of my friends were sceptical about the idea of having a themed wedding. My husband has been a member of the Sea Cadets since his childhood and as an active part of his unit still I was able to show my allegiance to him and his unit by asking an amazing company called Sash and Veil . They were able to incorporate a cap tally from the unit and create a beautiful garter with my married name and unit number engraved on the tag. So with this small nautical nod, the theme grew and grew. We knew we didn’t want it to be cheesy or cringeworthy.

The cake was a spot from a wedding fair in Newmarket pretty early on in the planning process, snapped a photo and filed it for future reference. I was extremely blessed in that, my mum’s best friend Bridget makes the most AMAZING cakes ever. I asked for the flavours I wanted and some vegan cupcakes for some special guests and simply asked for “something like the photo”. Bridget went above and beyond produced our amazing 4 tier cake, a fruit cake and vegan cupcakes that fed our guests and friends for weeks after. I loved it and really did make sure our wedding cake was certainly memorable.

The table centrepieces were one of the major headaches of the WHOLE wedding. But over time, it all came together.

  • Driftwood wreathes with candles in
  • Hand punched hearts in red, white and blue
  • Blue sparkles
  • Engraved hearts from Little Shop of Wishes in red, blue and clear
  • Buckets trimmed in nautical ribbon filled with sweets and photo props
  • Great Yarmouth Rock and Steven Seagull that came back from my hen do
  • White wooden photo frames decorated with nautical MDF shapes my bridesmaid found in the states

We were gifted a canvas which now lives in our kitchen with nautical phrases on it as an early pre-wedding gift from friends.

The pebble print beach hut guestbook canvas was a lovely change from a traditional book and graces our staircase so I pass it every day.

I had a sailboat charm and a heart, anchor and cross charm on my bracelet.

I made bunting to go around the ceremony room and behind the top table which was made from any kind of nautical fabrics I found in the run up to the wedding and now have in storage until I find time to do something with it. Alongside our two lighthouses and wooden anchor which sit on our window sill. I probably should eventually get rid of bits of them but I love having those reminders on show all the time.

